Frank Turner Award


[Scroll Down to See Photos of Recent Winners]

Frank Turner Award 2024: Ian Faris - READ

Frank Turner Award 2023: Clive Townley - READ

Frank Turner Award 2022: Richard Letourneau - READ

Frank Turner Award 2021: Jacqui James READ

Frank Turner Award 2020: Richard Webber READ

Historic Frank Turner Award Winners (1988-present) - READ

The Frank Turner Award, represented by its accompanying trophy, is the most prestigious award given by the VCC.

This award was created to honour Frank Turner, a long time member of the club.

Frank Turner was an accomplished photographer who won many awards for his art, but he was also an important and vital member of this club.

He served on the executive of the club in several positions including President over a number of years and also taught and shared his passion and talent for photography selflessly with other members. When he passed away, his Pentax camera was made into this trophy to honour both him and his remarkable contributions to the club.

The selection of the winner of the trophy is by tradition made by the last three winners independently from the executive of the club. The criteria are not written in stone, but rather are left to the discretion of the selectors. However the winners are always accomplished photographers who have made a significant contribution to the VCC over a period of time.

In April, 2013, Julia Turner, daughter-in-law of Frank Turner, bestowed twenty prints, including many prize winners, to the Victoria Camera Club. Those have been photographed and are now displayed here.


Recent Winners


2023-2024: Ian Faris

2024 Award Winner Ian Faris holding the Frank Turner Award

2022-2023: Clive Townley

2023 Award Winner Clive Townley

2021-2022: Richard Letourneau

2022 Award Winner Richard Letourneau holding the Frank Turner Award

2020-2021: Jacqui James

No photo available for Jacqui James

2019-2020: Richard Webber

2020 Award Winner Richard Webber

2018-2019: Bobbie Carey

2019 Award Winner Bobbie Carey holding the Frank Turner Award

2017-2018: Pam Irvine

2019 Award Winner Pam Irvine holding the Frank Turner Award

2016-2017: Mike Wooding

2017 Award Winner Mike Wooding holding the Frank Turner Award

 2015-2016: Lois Burton

2016 Award Winner Lois Burton holding the Frank Turner Award

This website is hosted by Visual Pursuits, a service provided by Software Pursuits, Inc.